



Atlantica Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Guest Speaker

Mission

NSBA Executive

Guest Speaker Bio:

Ms. Melanie Kennedy

Ms. Kennedy currently teachers Drama and Music at Auburn Drive High School in Cole Harbour, NS after having taught elementary music for 6 years.

Ms. Kennedy has been involved in a wide variety of music and theatre for over 20 years; from section leader and assistant director for the St. Mary's Basilica Choir through to performing and writing for Grafton Street Dinner Theatre.



Living in Cole Harbour, Ms. Kennedy is raising four children, Andrew, Ryan, Gregory and Sarah with her partner, Steve Hutchins.

Nova Scotia Band Association's mission is to support and promote the development of bands throughout the province of Nova Scotia, through communication, coordination, program development, advocacy and lobbying at the provincial level.

www.novascotiabandassociation.com

NSBA Executive 2008-2009

President - Dr. Mark Hopkins, Wolfville
First Vice President - Barbara Stetter, Glace Bay
Second Vice President - Ken Foote, Bridgewater
Treasurer - Kay Greene - Brooklyn
Secretary - Allison Penwell, Halifax
Past President - Ken Henderson, Truro
Industry Representative - Andy Coffin, Halifax
Member-at-Large - C.J. (Jim) Forde, Halifax
Member-at-Large - Lucille Humble, Dartmouth





Afternoon's Events

Lunch

Welcome and opening remarks

Mr. Ken Foote, 2nd Vice President

Greetings from NSBA Dr. Mark E. Hopkins, President

Introduction of guest speaker

Mrs. Meg Richardson

Guest Speaker
Ms. Melanie Kennedy

Awards Presentation

Band directors & NSBA President

"I connect the arts to discovering cultural diversity, to making community, to becoming wide-awake to the world."

- Maxine Greene



Ryan McShane - Auburn Drive High School

James Hannah - Bedford Junior High School

Brittany MacLean - Bridgeport Junior High School

Ross Chiasson - Charles P Allen High School

Justin Murphy - Coldbrook and District School

Kathryn LeBlanc - Ellenvale Junior High School

David Crosby - Glace Bay High School

Luke Knock - G.R. Saunders Elementary School

Mark Flowerdew - Halifax Grammar School
Jonathon Dionne - Kings County Academy

Jessica Hillary West - Leslie Thomas Junior High School
Courtney Earle - Madeline Symonds Middle School
Victoria Jewells - Morrison Junior High School
Charity Harnish - Musquodoboit Rural High School
Jessie Holman - Sackville Heights Junior High School
Janet O'Brien - South Colchester Academy
Emily Wesley - St. Andrew Junior School
Taylor Cameron - St. Michael Junior High School
Nicole MacEachern - Tamarac Education Centre
Alexander DeShaw - Valley Elementary School
Kelsey Van Blarcom - West Hants Middle School